Once Upon A Time

Where does your imagination take you when you hear the words, “Once upon a time”.

Adventure? A Journey? Adversity? Heart ache? True Love? What about Happy endings? What about all of the above! (That would be my answer for sure!). No matter what age group, I feel that every human being can somehow relate to ‘Once upon a time.’

In April 2010, President Dieter F. Uchtdorf’s  gave a talk entitled “Your Happily Ever After”. He speaks of how each of us has an opportunity to create our own Happy ending, regardless of the circumstances are placed in our way. This particular article has literally carried me during times of trial, gave me hope, and remembered that no matter what, God loved me.

Design Choices

The focus of my Magazine spread is for girls from the ages of 12-18 to recognize their inner beauty and most of all to feel love. Teenage years can be brutally lonely and it can be difficult to have confidence. Ladies, you are worth it! There is so much to be grateful for. You can do hard things and you are BEAUTIFUL.

Most of these girls will confess that they are ‘grown up’ at this point of their lives and much too old for fairytales; but let’s be honest…. the dream of having a perfect “Happily Ever After” never subsides, even (and especially) during the teenage years.

Bookmark your fairytale

One reason I love to read fairytales is because whenever the book begins with ‘Once upon a time’, I am assured that no matter what happens during the story, a ‘Happily Ever After’ is most likely going to accompany the ending. Which is why I decided to incorporate and repeat the bookmark shape at the beginning and the end of the article. I felt that it added it added the element of ‘closure’ that we all deep down desire.

All about the Color

I wanted to create a color scheme that would be feminine and warm (purples and yellows) but then also have a sophisticated flare (blues). Because I am focused on young women between ages 12-18, I added the brighter purple hue to add that youthful feel but then to satisfy our 18-year-old, ‘mature’, crowd I added a softer purple.

Typography

You’ll see two different fonts in my spread. First, a sans serif font called Helvetica. It is simple and basic, but it contrasts well with the decorative font ‘Youth and Beauty’. I was drawn to the ‘Youth and beauty’ text type for multiple reasons. First, the name. Teenage years can be rough! More than anything I hope that President Uchtdorf’s message along with my design can help teenager girls see their inner worth and true beauty. Also, I felt that this text created a feminine and lovely atmosphere and set the tone for the article.

Let your photos tell the story

The photos I used for this magazine spread came from two photoshoots that I shot within the last few months that I felt related quite well to the audience for my spread.First, the photo of my friend Loryn making a wish. The photoshoot where this was taken was for her senior portraits. I tried to utilize the ‘rule of thirds’ in this photo to help the eye naturally draw to the dandelion. Let’s be honest; we can ALL relate to this photo and cannot even look at it without wondering—what would I be wishing for right now?!

Photo by Michelle Hall

The second photo is of my friend Mercedes. She heads out on her mission this week to Kentucky. As a missionary as well as members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, we read the Book of Mormon and believe it to be the word of God. As this will be a part of Mercedes focus of the next 18 months, I tried to use the principle of leading lines to draw the focus to the message she will be sharing found in the Book of Mormon. I felt this picture helped capture a few things for my audience. First, is in order to make obtain their Happily Ever After, they need to have faith. Also, a mission is a big decision. At this time of their lives, big decisions come at them from EVERY angle. I hope that this picture helped them to realize their need for God in times of big decisions.

Missionary & Book of Mormon

Photo by Michelle Hall

You got this!

Don’t give up on YOUR happily Ever After. You deserve it just as much as anyone else. It is up to you to decide if you are going to make it. Choose now what you will do when life is at its best and at its worst. As President Dieter F. Uchtdorf states in his this article, “it is how you react to adversity that determines how your happily ever after will play out.” You got this!

 

For more information on how to find your happily ever after (and to read or watch the full text to the article) visit https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2010/04/your-happily-ever-after?lang=eng.

Leave a Reply

